Subform works fine on Ubuntu; "Official" beta?

As a fellow Electron developer, I decided to snoop around in the Subform app and see if I could get it running on Ubuntu. Turns out it works fine, apart from a couple of cross-platform improvements.*

So, given all the other request (this forum filled up fast!) and your previous statements on gauging the interest, I wouldn't pay too much attention to this just yet, but an additional linux version should be easy to generate. Please have a look at how I do it for https://github.com/kilian/fromscratch which has a packaging script that builds windows, mac and linux artifacts in one go.

* I can help with that: https://blog.avocode.com/blog/4-must-know-tips-for-building-cross-platform-electron-apps

Here's some images to prove it:

We just spent our Kickstarter money on a crack team of lawyers, who will be helicoptering down to your location shortly =P

Re: platform, there's a big difference between the "hello world" app and a reliable production tool.
The work is in the details, and as a team of two people we don't want to overextend ourselves trying to support the huge variety of Linux platforms and quirks.
I'm having nightmares right now just thinking about getting system font metrics and, god help us, trying to print.

Not writing it off forever, but an official Linux build isn't going to happen until we're at $10MM/year revenue and can afford to put 10 nerds in a boiler room to make it work.

Good to hear the money's being put to good use! :stuck_out_tongue:

I think you are severely overestimating how difficult it currently is to deliver working multiplatform software (using Electron). For all intents and purposes Subform behaves fine on Ubuntu (one of the benefits of having the same Chrome renderer regardless of platform). Going through my article should get you most of the way there. And printing? There's an API for that! https://github.com/electron/electron/blob/master/docs/api/web-contents.md#contentsprintoptions